King Frederik VII bought Jægerspris castle on April 21,1854 on the birthday of his spouse, Louise Danner. After that, the old hunting castle of the Oldenburg dynasty became the private residence of the monarch and, after his death in 1863, of his widow, Countess Danner. In 1866 the Countess opened parts of the castle to the public.
In the museum you can see the Audience Room, the king’s study with its impressive pipe collection, the Tower Room and salon with the king’s personal collection of weaponry, and the Countesses chambers with their splendid furniture. The royal chambers were decorated in contemporary style by the Countess Danner, who was greatly preoccupied with fashion and style. It is the most authentic example in Denmark today of the interior design of the 1850’s.
Visitors can study Frederik VII’s archaeological collection, including several unique findings of Bronze Age gold. They can also study the orphanage that the Countess founded at the castle. An exhibition tells how children lived in homes in the castle grounds in the 1920’s, 30’s and 40’s and documents the significance that this large orphanage had for child care in Denmark. There are also visiting exhibitions each year.
In the castle gardens is the burial mound of Countess Danner, and 54 pillars commemorate great men of the realm. They were created in the 1780’s by the famous Danish sculptor Johannes Wiedewelt.
For information about opening times, entrance fees etc: visit the museum’s website.
Jægerpris Castle is closed during the winter months, but opens again:
8. April - 29. October 2017
Tuesday til Sunday: 11 am - 4 pm
|Children ( 4 - 17 years)||15 DKK|
|Seniors (65 +)||50 DKK|
|Groups (min. 10 persons)||40 DKK|